Publish media in Content Hubs


About

All uploaded media is private by default (unless your administrator has configured a different default). When you're ready to share it with others, publish it to a channel or gallery in your Content Hubs.

If enabled by your administrator, your institution may also require captions before media can be published. This feature supports compliance with accessibility regulations in the EU and US by ensuring all published media includes captions.

  • You need to be the media owner or co-publisher to publish media.
  • You must also have permission to publish to the selected channel or gallery. Only locations you’re permitted to publish to are available for selection.
  • If you don’t see the Publish option in your menu, ask your administrator to enable the Publish module.

Open the Publish status menu

From the media page

  1. Navigate to the desired media page.
  2. Click the three-dot menu under the player and select Publish status.
  3. The Publish status menu displays.

From My Media

  1. Select My Media from the user menu.
  2. The My Media page displays.

  3. Click the three dots to the far right of the desired entry to open the Publish status menu.

Publish media

The Publish status menu displays three options:

  • Private - Only I can watch
  • Unlisted - Anyone with the link can watch
  • Publish - Users entitled to the selected channel(s) or gallery(ies) can view the media. If this isn't the first time the media has been published, this option changes to Change publish locations.

1. Click Publish.

If the Publish option is grayed out, please see Publish option unavailable below.

The Publish window opens.

2. Select one or more channels or galleries.

  • Use the Search box to find a channel or gallery.  If you have permission to publish to a sub-gallery but not the parent gallery, the parent gallery displays a grayed-out checkbox.
  • To learn about privacy settings of channels, visit our article Introduction to channels. For privacy settings of galleries, check out Understanding galleries.

After making your selection, the number of channels and galleries where the media will be published displays at the bottom of the window.

3. Click Save changes.

A success message displays.

Bulk publish media

  1. Open the My Media page.
  2. Select the checkboxes for the media items you want to publish.
  3. Scroll to the top of the page, and click Publish.
  4. The 'Publish' option only displays after you have selected at least one item.

    The Publish window opens.

    Continue with the steps above.

Publish option unavailable

If the Publish option is grayed out, the media can't be published until all required information has been completed.

Common reasons include:

For information about why publishing is unavailable and how to resolve each scenario, see Manage published media in Content Hubs.

Unpublish media

To unpublish media, you need to change its status to private. See Manage published media in Content Hubs.

Was this article helpful?
Thank you for your feedback!
User Icon

Thank you! Your comment has been submitted.

In this article
Related articles