Share A Direct Link To Your Kaltura Recordings and Uploaded Files

This is a beta feature and has limited availability. Please contact customercare@kaltura.com to learn more.

This articles describes how to share direct links to recordings and files within your Kaltura  Virtual Classroom. All you need to do is turn link sharing on, copy the link, then share it with your contacts.

By default, your Kaltura recordings and uploaded files are NOT available via a direct link. Only enabling or turning link share on will allow direct link access to your uploaded files.

Sharing From Virtual Classroom Files

  1. Click Files in the Course Directory.
    

    
  2. Navigate your files to find the file you want to share.
  3. Select the file you want to share.
  4. Click the Link icon.
    

    
  5. Click the switch to turn on link share for the selected file.
    

    
  6. Click Copy to copy the link to your clipboard and share the link.
    

    

Share From Course Files

  1. Click Files in your virtual classroom.
  2. Navigate your files to find the file you want to share.
  3. Select the file you want to share.
  4. Click the Link icon.
    

  5. Click the switch to turn on link share for the selected file.
    

  6. Click Copy to copy the link to your clipboard and share the link.
    

View Kaltura Recordings and Uploaded Files Shared Via Direct Link

Direct links to Kaltura recordings and uploaded files let you view share content by simply clicking a link.

Valid Direct Link

Clicking a direct link to shared file takes you to a branded Virtual Classroom page with an embedded file viewer.




Invalid Direct Link

Direct links to shared files are only valid as long as the sharer leaves link sharing enabled for the selected file. If you click a link and see a message that the link is no longer valid, then contact the sharer to get an updated link.




Disable (Turn Off) Link Share

Revoke access to your shared files by turning off link share.

Turning off link share invalidates the previous link to the selected file. Turning on link share for the selected file again generates a new URL. The previous URL does NOT become valid again.

From Virtual Classroom Files

  1. Click Files in the Course Directory.
  2. Navigate your files to find the file you want to turn off sharing for.
  3. Select the file you want revoke access to.
  4. Click the Link icon.
  5. Click the switch to turn off link share for the selected file.

From Course Files

  1. Click Files in your  Virtual Classroom.
  2. Navigate your files to find the file you want to turn off sharing for.
  3. Select the file you want revoke access to.
  4. Click the Link icon.
  5. Click the switch to turn off link share for the selected file.
In This Article
Was this article helpful?
Thank you for your feedback!