Add Participants To Channels (To Connect to Live Room)

In order for participants to be able to join or initiate Live Rooms as authenticated users, they must be added to a channel. For more information on how to create a channel, please see the video How To Create A Channel And Set Its Privacy Settings and How To Configure The Channels Module.

Adding Participants to A Channel

In order to add participants to a channel, a channel owner must:

  1. Login to your Mediapsace instance
  2. Select a channel you want to add users to
  3. Select Edit Channel
  4. Click Users
  5. Click Add Users
  6. Type user or group name
  7. Select the preferred channel role for that user or group and click Add
    1. Member - This permission allows the user to view channel content and Join a Live Room Meeting that has been launched by a Moderator/Manager as a participant in the live session
    2. Contributor - This permission level allows the user to not only view the channel content, but also add media to the channel. They can Join a Live Room Meeting that has been launched by by a Moderator/Manager as a participant in the live session
    3. Moderator - This permission level allows the user to view the channel content, add media to the channel, and moderate channel content. They can Start A Live Room Meeting as the main instructor of the live session
    4. Manager - This permission level allows the user to view the channel content, add media to the channel, moderate channel content, and access channel settings. They can Start A Live Room Meeting as the main instructor of the session

*For a more detailed understanding of what each channel permission allows, please check out the article Kaltura MediaSpace/Kaltura Application Framework (KAF) Roles and Permissions and the video How to Setup Members & Permissions in Galleries.


In This Article
Was this article helpful?
Thank you for your feedback!