Breakout Rooms

Can I Automatically Assign People To a Breakout Room?

04/01/2020Lior Bukshpan
Yes. Assigning via breakout has a random auto function as shown below.          ...

How Many Breakout Rooms Can Each Live Room Have?

04/02/2020Lior Bukshpan
Each live room can have 30 breakout rooms.

Can I Set Up Breakout Rooms In Advance and Pre-Assign People?

04/02/2020Lior Bukshpan
No. You cannot set up breakout rooms in advance, nor can you pre-assign people.

Why Does the Timer in the Breakout Room Only Allow 10 Minute Increments?

04/02/2020Lior Bukshpan
The 10 minute interval is only if the breakout has already started.

Is There a Way to Set a Custom Time Limit For Breakout Rooms?

04/02/2020Lior Bukshpan
Yes. Before starting a breakout, you can enter a time limit in any whole number value.   To learn more about Breakouts, click here . ...

Can the Presenter Be In Multiple Rooms?

04/02/2020Lior Bukshpan
Yes. Presenters can join multiple rooms at the same time. However, presenters can only be in one breakout room at a time in the same session.

Can I Bring Presentation Content Into the Breakout Rooms?

04/02/2020Lior Bukshpan
Yes. You can bring presentation content into the breakout rooms, however, only once the breakout is initiated. To add content, please refer to Play Or Share Your Uploaded Files . Breakout rooms are automatically cleared after each breakout sessio...

You Are in a Breakout Room and a Student Enters the Main Room Late. Can You Be Alerted?

04/02/2020Lior Bukshpan
Virtual Classroom does not have the ability to alert you if you are in a breakout room. However, if you have breakout room set to auto-assign, students who enter the main room will be automatically brought into a breakout session. If breakout is set...

Can I Schedule the Breakout Rooms (i.e., For the Teacher or a Conference That Has a Schedule)?

04/02/2020Lior Bukshpan
No. Kaltura Virtual Classroom does not allow for scheduling of breakout rooms. 

Can you Rename the Breakout Rooms?

04/06/2020Lior Bukshpan
No. You can create and delete rooms, but names of existing/active breakout rooms cannot be changed.

How Long Can a User Stay in Breakout Rooms?

04/12/2020Lior Bukshpan
A user may remain in a breakout room until the Instructor clicks on the “End Breakout” button. A user can even log out of the breakout room and log back in at a later time, as long as the breakout room is still active.  For &ldquo...

Is Information in Breakout Rooms Saved for Future Use?

04/12/2020Lior Bukshpan
Yes. Information in a breakout room is saved therein, as long as the breakout room remains open. Once the breakout room is closed, all information therein is discarded.

Can an Instructor Enter a Breakout Room Ahead of Students and Prepare Work for Them?

04/13/2020Lior Bukshpan
Yes. Use the following steps to prepare work for students ahead of them entering breakout rooms.  Start breakout rooms before students log in to the rooms.  Enter each room and load content. Return to the Breakout Manager...

Can Breakout Rooms Be Recorded and Where Can I Find the Recordings?

04/16/2020Lior Bukshpan
The breakout rooms can be recorded. After the session the recordings are located in the Instructors/Moderators My Media. From there, the Instructor can choose to share the recording with students in a few ways: Go to the Media page > Select Act...

Can you Set a Different Breakout Time For Each Room?

04/19/2020Lior Bukshpan
No. Kaltura Virtual Classroom only allows setting the same breakout time to all rooms. 

How many participants can be placed in breakout?

11/10/2020Danny Swibel
Only 25 participants max can be placed into individual breakout rooms.

Can I preload files into a breakout room?

01/12/2021Danny Swibel
Yes, you can load materials into breakout rooms using the shared breakout folder for breakout participants to access.  You can also load/broadcast files into your breakout rooms during a live breakout session.  Load Materials into Breako...

Can students see the file I broadcast into the room if all other permissions are turned off?

02/21/2021Danny Swibel
Yes. The students will always be able to see what is presented on the stage by others.

Do students see the annotation bar if the "Annotations" permission is on?

02/21/2021Danny Swibel
They will see the same pencil you see on the bottom right of the screen to turn on the annotations toolbar. When that pencil is clicked by the student, the toolbar will show up.

Can I change breakout room permissions while in breakout room mode?

02/21/2021Danny Swibel
No. You have to select the permissions before breaking out. You can also end the session and reinitiate it if needed. You will notice the [Permissions] button is  not shown in the breakout room manager while the breakouts are in session. ...

Can participants mute each other in breakout rooms?

02/21/2021Danny Swibel
No. They can only control their own mute button/webcam.

Can a participant or guest be made a moderator in a breakout room?

02/21/2021Danny Swibel
Anyone can be made a moderator in the main room and they will remain a moderator if they go to breakout.

If Chat is turned off, can the students see messages I broadcast into the room?

02/21/2021Danny Swibel
Yes. The ability of the host to broadcast messages in the room is independent of the Chat feature turning on or off.