Create and manage restream sessions in Content Hubs


About

Restreaming lets you send a single live stream to multiple scheduled live sessions. The session providing the stream is the master session, allowing the same live broadcast to be used across multiple sessions.

Create a live master session specifically for restreaming, then connect the live sessions that will receive the stream. Each connected session receives the stream according to its own schedule.

From the Restream sessions tab on the Edit Media page, you can connect and manage the live sessions that receive the stream.

Who can use this

  • Media owners
  • Co-editors

Create a live master session

If you're setting up a new live session specifically for restreaming, you can create a live master session.

  1. Select Live Master Session from the +Create menu.
  2. The Create Live master session window opens.

  3. Enter a name. You can also add a description and tags.
  4. Click Create.
  5. The Edit Media page opens for the new master session.

The master session receives the source stream that is sent to the connected sessions. Use the Streaming tab to access the connection details for your encoder. For more information, see Edit media streaming settings in Content Hubs.

Connect sessions to the master

Connect one or more existing live sessions to receive the stream from the master session.

  1. On the master session you just created, click the Restream sessions tab.
  2. The Restream sessions page opens.

  3. Click + Connect a restream session at the upper right.
  4. The Select existing sessions window opens.

    • The list only includes live sessions that you own or co-edit. The session you're currently editing and sessions already connected to it aren't included.
    • If a session is already connected to another master session, it can't be selected.
  5. Select one or more sessions. You can use the checkbox at the top of the list to select all available sessions.
  6. Click Select.
  7. The selected sessions are added to the Restream sessions list.

    The master session sends its live stream to each connected session according to that session's schedule.

Manage a connected session

To manage a connected session, click the three dots next to the session and select an action.

Available actions are:

  • Edit - Opens the edit media page for the connected session.
  • Go to session - Opens the connected session's page.
  • Detach from master - Disconnects the session from the master. The session is removed from the Restream sessions list. The live session itself isn't deleted or changed and can continue to be used independently.
  • Delete - Opens a confirmation window. When confirmed, the live session is permanently deleted and removed from the Restream sessions list.
Was this article helpful?
Thank you for your feedback!
User Icon

Thank you! Your comment has been submitted.

In this article
Related articles