Set Participant Permissions

Any one of your participants can be set as a moderator to help you manage your live session or be given limited permissions to contribute to the live session.

What Specific Permissions Are Supported?

You can give specific participants additional permissions to further collaborate in the live session. Additional permissions enable specific participants to:
 
  • Share their screen - enables set participants to share their screen.
  • Play shared files - enables set participants to access the playlist and control playback of shared files.
  • Draw on whiteboard & annotations - enables set participants to draw on the whiteboard and annotate ,played files.
  • Write notes - enables set participants to contribute to notes, edit notes, and add new notes.

Set Participant Permissions

  1. Display the participant list.
  2. Find the participant you want to give additional permission to.
  3. Click the drop down carrot (V) that displays when your cursor hovers over the participant.
  4. Click More Permissions
  5. Select the check boxes corresponding to the permissions you want to give that user

💡Permissions are session based so giving a specific participant additional permissions in one session does not give them those permissions automatically the next time they join.

Set a Participant as a Moderator

Moderators are able to share content and control what participants are seeing on stage. The room owner is the room's permanent moderator. The room owner can set participants as moderators to enable them to share content and help run the live session.
 
  1. Display the participant list.
  2. Find the participant you want to set as the moderator and hover your cursor over them.
  3. Click the drop down carrot (V) that displays when your cursor hovers over the participant.
  4. Select the checkbox corresponding to the text Moderator

💡That's it! The user is now a moderator. The moderator icon (a star) is displayed next to their name.

Set Default Permissions

In the System Settings, instructors can set default permissions before the live session begins for all participants. 

  1. Go to Settings ⚙️
  2. Go to the Default Permissions Tab
  3. Click the permissions you wish to give all participants in your live session. This includes:
    1. Draw on Whiteboard
    2. Play Shared Files
    3. Share Their Screen
    4. Write Notes
    5. View Participant List

💡If you wish to remove a participant's individual permissions, simply find their name in the participant list and click off that individual permission you wish to remove. 

In This Article
Was this article helpful?
Thank you for your feedback!