About
Moderators can use Q&A to review questions from participants, claim questions, and respond directly during a session.
This article describes the Q&A experience when Public Q&A isn't enabled. If your account uses Public Q&A, see Manage Public Q&A during a live session.
Open Q&A
- On the session page, click Live stage in the right navigation.
- Click the Q&A icon at the top of the Live stage panel.
The Q&A area opens. If no questions have been submitted yet, No questions yet displays.

If participants have submitted questions, they appear under Pending chats or Chats.
The number of conversations displays next to each section. Click the arrow next to a section to expand or collapse it.

To read a conversation without claiming it, click the conversation itself.
How participant questions are organized
Your administrator can configure Q&A to use a single conversation thread or multiple conversation threads for each participant:
- Single thread (default) – All questions from a participant appear in the same conversation.
- Multi thread – Each question starts a separate conversation. A participant can have multiple conversations open with moderators or speakers at the same time.
Multi threadClaim and answer a question
- Find the participant's question under Pending chats.
- Click Reply next to the participant's name.
- Enter your response in the Write your message field.

The conversation opens.

Answering as [Session Name] displays above the field to indicate that you're responding as a moderator rather than in a private chat.
To return to the Q&A list, click the back arrow.
Send a conversation back to pending
To make a claimed conversation available to other moderators again:
- Open the conversation.
- Click the three dots.
- Select Send back to pending chats.

Manage messages and participants
Moderators can also manage messages and participants from Q&A:
- Hover over a message and select the Like icon to like a message.
- Hover over any message and select the Trashcan icon to delete the message.
- Hover over a message and select the Pin icon to pin the message to the top of the list.
- Hover over a message and select the Block icon to block the user.