This article explains the device hierarchy regarding Participant and Room Manager control of webcams and microphone.
- When participants enable devices when joining a live session, they are allowing the broadcasting of their webcam and microphone. Instructors/moderators can block access of their devices.
- When participants disable devices when joining a live session, the Room Manager/Moderator cannot force them on to be seen or heard. Participants own their devices.
- Room Managers/Moderators can Mute All webcams or microphones (coming soon) of participants in the live session.
When Participants Enable Devices
1. If a participant chooses to enable/activate their webcam and microphone to be broadcasted.
2.The Room Manager has the ability to block these devices from broadcasting by clicking them off in the Participant List .
3. The participant can only broadcast again if the Room Maanger clicks on their devices to unmute them.
The participant can click the Raise Hand icon
to get the Room Manager's attention that they want to speak and request to be unmuted.
When Participants Disable Devices
1. If a participant chooses to disable or deactivate their webcam and microphone...
2. The Room Manager does NOT have the ability to affect the participant whatsoever. The participant's devices appear grayed out to the Room Manager. Therefore, the Room Manager cannot click off and block devices from broadcasting as before, NOR force the devices on to be broadcast.
3. The participant can only broadcast again if they themselves click on their devices in the top bar to unmute themselves.
Room Managers/Moderators can Mute All
devices of participants in the live session when they are trying to control the environment of the live class.
- If an Room Manager /Moderator wants to mute all microphones or webcams (coming soon), they simply click on the webcam or microphone icon next to Mute All in the participant list.
- When an Room Manager /Moderator wishes un-Mute All webcams or microphones, they simply click on the webcam or microphone icon again.
- An Room Manager /Moderator can manually unmute individual participants by simply clicking on the camera icon under that participants name.
When an Room Manager /Moderator clicks Mute All, they are muting the devices of all participants in the live session, including their own and fellow instructor/moderators.