Join A Kaltura Live Room Using a Smartphone

Join Your Session

Once you receive a link to a Kaltura Live Room, you are ready to connect to your session via your iPhone (iOS) or Android smartphone. You do not need to download an app.
 
  1. As a guest, you will be prompted to enter your name and email address. Then click Join The Class.
    

  2. After you have joined the class, you will be prompted to activate your device. Click Activate.
    

  3. You will then be asked if Kaltura can access your Microphone and Camera. Click Allow.
    

Features

Once inside the Kaltura Live room, you can communicate with other participants, as well as:
  • Text chat to write other participants or share a weblink.
  • Shared notes allow participants to see and share notes.
  • View the participant list to see who else is in your room.
  • Raise your hand to notify the moderator if you have any questions or need assistance.
  • Breakout into groups after being placed in side rooms by the instructor.
    

Portrait Vs Landscape Mode

There are benefits of viewing your session in the different viewing modes - Portrait or Landscape.

Portrait Mode

Portrait mode allows you to see the person speaking or shared content while having access to features such as chat, notes, and the participant list. 

Landscape Mode

Landscape mode focuses more on the conversation between yourself and other users and removes the various features from your view. 
Note: You can access the tools again when flipping your phone back to Portrait mode. 

Settings

To go into your settings, click on your image. You will then be brought to a screen where you will have the option to disable your camera or microphone by either pressing the green camera or microphone button. 
In This Article
Was this article helpful?
Thank you for your feedback!