Class Modes: Virtual Classroom vs Webinar

You can change the class mode of your Live Room from Virtual Classroom to Webinar mode.  Class modes help provide a live class experience better aligned with the instructor's intent.

Class Mode: Virtual Classroom

By default, your live sessions are set as Virtual Classrooms. The Virtual Classroom class mode provides a “hands free” approach to managing your learners in the live session:
  • Participants are prompted to turn on their devices when joining the live class. If they have already used a Kaltura Live Room, then their webcam and microphone devices are automatically initiated.
  • When your participants’ devices are activated, they are automatically added to the stage.

Class Mode: Webinar

If your sessions have many participants or you don’t want your participants to automatically be added to  the stage, then use the Webinar class mode. With the Webinar class mode, you have more control on who is added to the stage:
 
  • Participants are not prompted to turn on their devices when entering the live session.
  • If your participants activate their devices by using the controls in the upper bar, then they are not automatically added to the stage. You can add them to the stage manually using the Live button in the participant list.


Change Class Modes (For Room Manager or Admin)

By default, your live classes are set to Virtual classroom mode.

To change class modes

  1. Click the Settings gear in the upper bar of your live session.
  2. Select the class mode that you want to use:
    • Virtual Classroom - participants are brought directly on stage with webcams/microphone enabled
    • Webinar - participants are passive observers w/ webcam/microphone disabled, appearing only in participant list
  3. Click Close - your changes are automatically applied.

💡The class mode you set is saved automatically and remains selected even after leaving the live class and returning later.



In This Article
Was this article helpful?
Thank you for your feedback!